Home

1.     WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN PMP ® AND CAPM ®?

Answer: The CAPM® can be a precursor to the PMP® for less experienced project managers.

Certified Associate in Project Management certifies you in the basics of project management and its terminology. It is valid for 5 years and is non-renewable, with the goal that you would be eventually eligible for the PMP®. The CAPM exam is based solely on the contents of the PMBOK 5th edition. PMP®; Professional Project Manager: offers the complete certification as a professional project manager. The examination is based on the content of PMBOK 5th edition AND your professional experience. It must be renewed every three years by accumulating PDUs (Professional Development Units). You can download the PMP handbook: available in pdf on the PMP page.

 

2.     WHAT ARE PDUS?

Answer: The PDU are virtual units allocated when you participate in activities related to project management. As a member of PMI-Montreal they are directly transferred into your MyPMI account when the event or activity if hosted by PMI-Montreal. You must earn 60 PDUs to maintain your PMP certification, in addition to a $ 60 fee to renew your PMP. PDUs are not retroactive and are only intended for those who are already PMP certified. You can view the different categories to submit PDUs in the PMP handbook.

 

3.     WHAT IS THE PROCESS TO BECOME PMP ®?

Answer: You must first determine your eligibility criteria: according to education level and how much experience you have accumulated in addition to the mandatory 35 hours of formal training, PMI-Montréal preparatory courses fulfill this requirement. You can apply by completing the application available on pmi.org http://www.pmi.org/Certification.aspx. A confirmation of your eligibility is sent within 10 working days. Once accepted, a link will be sent enabling you to register for the examination with Prometric. You may then be submitted to a potential audit aimed to validate the information provided in the application, all the necessary documents will be sent to you during the process. Not all applications are audited but we suggest that you contact your reference beforehand. Once completed and successful, you can call Prometric Center with your confirmation ID to schedule the exam date that suits you. There are no predetermined exam dates : 514-876-0063. At the end of the exam you will be notified whether you succeeded or not, the passing score is 61%.

 

4.     HOW MUCH DO PMI-MONTRÉAL PREPARATION COURSES COST?

Answer: For members, the preparation PMP®/CAPM® courses costs $ 1050 CAN and $ 1 350 CAN for non-members.

 

5.     WHAT OTHER CERTIFICATIONS DO YOU OFFER?

Answer: We also offer: PMI-ACP® for Agile project management, PMI-RMP®, the certification in risk management and PMI-SP ® certification in project scheduling. We also offer the PgMP®, PMI-PBA® and PfMP® certifications. Please contact us for preparatory courses which are not yet posted on our schedule.

 

6.     WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS OF BECOMING A MEMBER?

Answer: Membership provides you with the exclusive opportunity to access reduced prices and networking activities, Mornings and Evenings Conference series events, five  Communities of PracticeSymposium and Gala Élixir events. Some programs, like the Mentoring Program and the Communities of practice are free and reserved exclusively for members. In addition, a substantial discount is granted to members for the various preparation courses and certification exams. As a member you can also receive PMI-Montreal news and events, and jobs opportunities posted on the site by different companies, allowing you to be up to date about events and opportunities in the chapter.

7.     DO I HAVE TO BE A MEMBER OF THE INTERNATIONAL PMI AND PMI-MONTREAL?

Answer: PMI is the international headquarters; you actually must be a member of PMI Global in order to be a member of a chapter worldwide. Costs related to PMI Global are U.S. $ 139 for regular members and $ 30 for student members,. Memberships are renewable annually. To be a member of PMI-Montreal, it costs $ 30 a year for regular members and $ 10 for student members

 

8.     MY MEMBER ACCOUNT IS NOT WORKING, WHAT SHOULD I DO?

Answer: Are you certain that you have already registered on the PMI-Montreal website? Please note that it is not the same site as the PMI International (pmi.org) and the PMI-Montreal website has only had an account access point since December 2013. If you have not created an account,  please click on Click here if you are not already registered to enter your username and password and create your profile.

 

9.     THE SITE DOES NOT SHOW ME THE MEMBER PRICE AND YET I AM A MEMBER, WHAT SHOULD I DO?

Answer: Login into your account and click the tab My Information. Make sure your PMI member ID number is entered and the PMI member box is checked.  If it has been less than 24 hours since you became a member and created your PMI-Montreal account, please allow for some time for us to validate your account. If it has been more than 3 working days, please contact rec@pmimontreal.org

 

10.    IN WHAT FORMAT ARE THE EXAMS CERTIFICATION EXAMS?

Answer: The PMP® exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions and you have four hours to respond. The pass mark is 61%. Examination for the CAPM® has 150 multiple choice questions and you have 3 hours to respond and the pass grade is 66%. The exams are in English but you can request a translation during registration with Prometric.

11.     WHAT IS THE PRICE OF THE EXAM?

Answer: The PMP® exam is US $ 405 for members and US $ 555 for non-members. The CAPM® exam costs US $ 225 for members and US $ 300 for non-members.

 

12.      WHICH DOCUMENTS DO YOU A NEED FOR COURSE AND EXAM?

Answer: Aside from the PMI-Montreal training manual that will be given to you at the first course, you only need the PMBOK Guide  available at pmi.org section PMBOK Guide and Standards 5th edition. The book is essential to pass the exam and costs $ 49.50 for PMI members and $ 65.95 for non-members. Members also have access to downloadable PDF for free, they only need to log in to their account pmi.org. The UQAM COOP also sales the PMBOK 5th edition at members rate for PMI-Montreal members.

 

13.       ARE THE COURSES ELIGIBLE TO LAW#90 FOR TAX DEDUCTIONS?

Answer: Yes, PMI-Montreal preparation courses meet the eligibility criteria for the 1% tax deduction; you will find all the information necessary for this deduction in the bottom of your invoice. We also provide the receipt for taxes upon request.

Accueil

1.     QUELLE EST LA DIFFÉRENCE ENTRE PMP® ET CAPM®?

Réponse : Le CAPM® peut être le précurseur du PMP® destiné aux gestionnaire de projets ayant moins d’expérience.

Certified Associate in Project Management  donne les bases, la terminologie. La certification dure 5 ans et est non-renouvelable puisque le but est de passer au PMP® ensuite. L’examen CAPM est basé uniquement sur le contenu du PMBOK 5e édition.

 

Le PMP®; Professional Project Manager  donne le titre de gestionnaire professionnel de projets ou professionnel de gestion de projet. L’examen est basé sur le contenu du PMBOK 5e édition ET votre expérience professionnelle. Il doit être renouvelé chaque 3 ans en cumulant des PDU (Professional Development Units). Vous pouvez télécharger le PMP Handbook : disponible en pdf sur la page PMP de notre site web.

 

2.     QU’EST-CE QUE LES PDU?

Réponse : Les PDU sont des unités virtuelles allouées lorsque vous participez à des activités liées à la gestion de projet. Elles sont directement transférées dans votre compte au PMI International lorsque ces activités sont dispensées par le PMI-Montréal. Vous devez cumuler 60 PDU sur 3 ans pour maintenir votre certification PMP, en plus des frais de 60 $ pour renouveler votre permis de PMP.  Les PDU ne sont pas rétroactifs et ne sont destinés qu’aux PMP déjà certifiés. Vous pouvez voir les différentes catégories pour soumettre vos PDU dans le PMP handbook   et si vous êtes memrbes en rêgle du PMI Montréal, ceux-ci sont automatiquement ajouté à votre compte au pmi.org.

 

3.     QUEL EST LE PROCESSUS POUR DEVENIR PMP®?

Réponse : Vous devez d’abord voir à quelle catégorie d’éligibilité vous appartenez : avec ou sans baccalauréat et ainsi voir combien d’heures d’expérience vous avez besoin en plus des 35 heures de formation formelle obligatoire ( le cours préparatoire du PMI-Montréal rempli cette exigence d’éligibilité). Vous appliquez ensuite en remplissant l’application disponible au pmi.org , section Certification, la confirmation de votre éligibilité est envoyée dans les 10 jours ouvrables. Lorsque vous êtes accepté, un lien vous sera envoyé afin de vous inscrire à l’examen que vous passerez chez Prometric. Vous vous soumettez alors à un potentiel processus d’audit qui vise à valider les informations fournies dans l’application, tous les documents nécessaires vous seront envoyés. Toutes les applications ne sont pas vérifiées mais nous vous suggérons de contacter votre référence à l'avance. Le cas échéant, une fois l’audit terminé et réussi, appelez le Centre Prometric avec votre numéro de confirmation pour programmer la date d’examen qui vous conviendra car il n’y a pas de session d’examen pré-déterminée : 514-876-0063. Vous savez dès la fin de l’examen si vous avez réussi ou non, la note de passage est de 61%.

 

4.     COMBIEN COÛTENT LES COURS DE PRÉPARATION DU PMI-MONTRÉAL?

Réponse : Pour les membres, les cours de préparation PMP®/ CAPM® coûtent 1000 $ CAN plus taxes et 1 300 $ CAN plus taxes pour les non-membres.

 

5.     QUELLES AUTRES CERTIFICATIONS OFFREZ-VOUS?

Réponse : Nous offrons également : PMI-ACP ® qui est la technique Agile, PMI-RMP ®, qui est la certification en gestion des risques et PMI-SP® qui donne la certification en scheduling. Nous offrons aussi la certification PgMP®. Veuillez nous contacter pour des cours préparatoires qui ne sont pas encore affichés à l’horaire.

 

6.     QUELS SONT LES AVANTAGES À DEVENIR MEMBRE?

Réponse : L’abonnement membre donne principalement l’occasion au membre d’accéder plus facilement, grâce à des tarifs préférentiels, aux activités de réseautage du PMI-Montréal: telles les Matinées et Soirées PMI, Communautés de pratique, le Symposium et le Gala Élixir. Certaines activités sont gratuites pour les membres, tel que le programme de mentorat et les communautés de pratique. De plus, un rabais substantiel est accordé aux membres en ce qui concerne les différents cours de préparation aux certifications et les examens pour ces mêmes certifications. En étant membre vous pouvez également recevoir les infolettres du PMI-Montréal et offres d’emploi affichées sur le site  par différentes organisations, vous permettant ainsi d’être à jour concernant les différents événements et opportunités du chapitre.

 

7.     DOIT-ON ÊTRE MEMBRE DU PMI INTERNATIONAL  ET DU PMI-MONTRÉAL?

Réponse : Le PMI International étant le siège social, vous devez effectivement être membre de celui-ci afin d’être ensuite membre de n’importe quel autre chapitre à travers le monde. Les abonnements sont renouvelables chaque année. Pour être membre du PMI-Montréal, il en coûte 30 $ annuellement pour les membres réguliers et 10 $ pour les membres étudiants en plus des frais de 139 $ pour les membres réguliers et de 30 $ pour les étudiants, exigés par le PMI International afin de pouvoir être membre d’un chapitre.

 

8.     MON COMPTE MEMBRE NE FONCTIONNE PAS, QUE DOIS-JE FAIRE?

Réponse : Êtes-vous certain(e) d’être déjà inscrit sur le site du PMI-Montréal? Prenez note qu’il ne s’agit pas du même site que celui du PMI International (pmi.org) et que le site du PMI-Montréal ne fonctionne ainsi que depuis décembre 2013. Si vous n’avez pas créé un compte, veuillez donc cliquer sur Cliquez ici si vous n’êtes pas déjà enregistré : en dessous des cases pour entrer votre nom d’utilisateur et mot de passe et créez ainsi votre profil. Si ça fait plus de 3 jours depuis que vous avez créer votre compte et vous n'avez toujours pas le prix membre, veuillez communiquer avec rec@pmimontreal.org

 

9.     LE SITE NE M’AFFICHE PAS LE PRIX MEMBRE ET POURTANT JE LE SUIS, QUE DOIS-JE FAIRE?

Réponse : Vous devez vous rendre dans votre compte (connectez-vous) puis dans la section Mes Informations (onglet gris) vous cochez la case Membre PMI et ajoutez votre # de membre, puis cliquez sur Modifier. Si vous êtes membre depuis moins de 3 jours, veuillez nous envoyer au rec@pmimontreal.org la facture de votre adhésion au PMI International et PMI-Montréal afin que nous validions votre abonnement membre.

 

10.    SOUS QUELLE FORME SONT LES EXAMENS POUR LES CERTIFICATIONS PMP® ET CAPM®?

Réponse : L’examen du PMP® comporte 200 questions à choix multiples et vous avez 4 heures pour y répondre. La note de passage est de 61%. L’examen du CAPM® comporte 150 questions à choix multiples et vous avez 3 heures pour y répondre et la note de passage est de 66%. Les examens sont originalement en anglais mais vous pouvez demander une traduction lors de votre inscription.

 

11.    QUEL EST LE PRIX DE L’EXAMEN?

Réponse : L’examen PMP® coûte 405 $ US pour les membres et 555 $ US pour les non-membres. L’examen CAPM® coûte 225 $ US pour les membres et 300 $ US pour les non-membres.

12.     DE QUELS DOCUMENTS  A-T-ON BESOIN POUR LES COURS ET L’EXAMEN?

Réponse : Hormis le manuel de formation du PMI-Montréal, qui vous est remis lors du 1er cours, vous avez besoin uniquement du PMBOK 5e édition, disponible au pmi.org   section PMBOK Guide and Standards. L’examen et le cours étant bâtis selon ce manuel de référence en gestion de projet, il est indispensable pour passer l’examen et est au coût de 49.50 $ US pour les membres du PMI et 65.95 $ US pour les non-membres. Les membres ont également accès au PDF téléchargeable gratuitement, ils doivent seulement se connecter à leur compte au pmi.org. La coop de l’UQÀM offre aussi le PMBOK 5e édition au tarif membre pour les membres du PMI-Montréal.

 

13.     VOS COURS SONT-ILS ÉLIGIBLES À LA LOI #90 POUR LES DÉDUCTIONS D’IMPÔTS?

Réponse : Oui, nous souscrivons aux critères d’éligibilité pour le 1% déductible d’impôts, vous trouverez toutes les informations nécessaires à cette déduction dans le bas de votre facture. Nous fournissons sur demande les reçus pour fin d‘impôts.