Guide for new members

PMI-Montréal and Project Management

 

The history of project management in Québec is fascinating; some claim that project management methodologies were first used in a non-military project during the international EXPO 67 and the construction of Montreal’s metro (Grenier, Raymond, Regards sur l’Expo 67).

However, project management in Quebec really took hold when the provincial government, seeing the future of major dam construction projects such as James Bay, called on Quebec universities to train their engineers in project management’s methods and best practices.

Today in Quebec, there are 14 universities that teach project management and 5 research centers which contribute to making Montreal a project management hub.

It is this momentum in project management that attracts professionals from around the globe as well as Quebecers in career transition to become part of this great team of project managers at PMI-Montréal. We are proud of the services that we offer and will continue to offer to ease the integration of these newcomers into our community.

Welcome and thank you for your vote of confidence.

Louise Fournier, PMI-Montréal Executive Director

Guide des nouveaux membres

mot de la directrice générale

 
L’histoire de la gestion de projet au Québec est fascinante : certains prétendent que c’est lors de l’exposition universelle de 1967, EXPO 67, et la construction du métro de Montréal que la méthodologie de la gestion de projet fut utilisée pour la première fois pour un projet non militaire (Grenier, Raymond, Regards sur l’Expo 67).


Mais l’envol de la gestion de projet au Québec est donné par le gouvernement du Québec qui, lors de l’avènement de chantiers majeurs visant la construction des grands barrages, en particulier celui de la Baie-James, a fait appel aux universités québécoises pour doter ses ingénieurs des meilleures pratiques et connaissances en gestion de projet.


Au Québec, à l’heure actuelle, 14 universités enseignent la gestion de projet et il existe 5 chaires de recherches, contribuant à faire de Montréal un important pôle en gestion de projet.


C’est cet essor de la gestion de projet qui attire au PMI-Montréal des professionnels du monde entier et des Québécois en transition de carrière qui veulent faire partie de cette belle et grande équipe de gestionnaires de projet et nous sommes fiers des services que nous leur offrons et allons continuer à leur offrir pour faciliter leur intégration à notre communauté.


Bienvenue et merci de votre confiance.


Louise Fournier
Directrice générale du PMI-Montréal