Guide for new members

THE JOB SEARCH IN PROJECT MANAGEMENT

It is very clear that the segments of business, aerospace, and health, as in IT, remain among the most in demand fields in project management. Nevertheless, other industries are constantly looking for project managers, such as event management, culture and arts, as well as real estate.

 

It is interesting to find many project managers with expertise or an academic background in different fields outside the norm, such as  environmental or the arts. music or cinema. Their expertise  allows them to manage specific projects more efficiently, thanks to their understanding of the context. Therefore, we must never underestimate our different personal and professional experiences; they can always be put to good use when approaching an employer.

Many positions related to the field of project management are available in Québec. The hierarchical level and title depend on the level of responsibility and scope or importance of the project. They also depend on the "typical career path” within each company. We can find, for example :

Project Manager: One normally responsible for organizing and ensuring  a smooth undertaking of a project from start to finish (costs/budget, schedule, specifications, quality, etc.).

Project Lead: One who leads a project, often under the responsibility of a project coordinator.

Project Coordinator: Responsible for managing the small projects. Often assists a project director.

Project Director: The professional who leads a large-scale project as opposed to a project leader. He pilots the project, anticipates the impacts, drives change, arbitrates decisions and ensures communication. Often supported by a project management team.

 

Project Controller (or PCO, acronym of Project Control Officer): One responsible for planning, updating and controlling projects. Reports on the status of the project. Often the co-pilot of the project.

 

Note: nowadays in large corporations, we find positions related to project portfolio, where the mandated professional has the responsibility to manage a set of projects, often related to the strategic plan of the company.

 

The more you advance in your own project management career, the more your interpersonal skills will be sought. So keep this in mind when looking for skills improvement courses or a new positions.

 

PERMANENT OR CONSULTING?

A very common practice in Québec, is where the professional is a permanent employee of an agency or consulting firm in project management. The company assigns you to a mandate that requires a placement with a client

 

Other companies hire professionals directly as permanent employees, which allows you to develop a long-term relationship with the organisation. You will be one of the organisation’s employees and will be entitled to its benefits. As an employee, you will have performance appraisals, increases in salary, promotions, establishment of career goals, etc.

 

A career in consulting is also possible, as it is often the case in the IT (Information Technology) industry. In this context, you are more independent. Often, the consultant’s mandates are between 6 to 18 months. You will not be an employee of the organization and won’t benefit from the social advantages. You would have to start your own company and invoice your services—a very common practice known as ‘’freelancer.’’ The hourly rates are generally higher than permanent positions, as you will be required to obtain personal insurance, plan vacation time and idle time in-between mandates, etc. Accounting and tax specialist support may be advantageous.

 

Attributes sought out in professionals that occupy a permanent position are different than the ones requested or expected in consulting. The CV of a permanent professional often shows an interest in process improvement and promotions obtained, while the CV of a consultant will show the variety of experiences in different organisations.

THE PARTICULAR ROLE OF A PROJECT CONTROLLER

The Project Controller (or PCO, acronym to Project Control Officer, or verbally, the Planner or Project Controller) is responsible for planning, updating and controlling project. The professional acts as the project co-pilot.

 

For someone who is just starting a career in project management or even the experienced professionals who arrive in Québec, the role of a PCO is seen as an excellent entry point into the job market. Here are the main reasons:

 

  • The position of PCO doesn’t require major decisions taking. For someone who just arrived in Québec, it is necessary to not ‘’get burned’’ in a position that requires important decision making, without enough knowledge of the culture and Québec practices. The PCO can observe, analyse and learn a lot while giving the necessary support to the project director.
  • It requires a good communication, especially in writing, which offers a good opportunity to learn the jargon and communication customs.
  • It offers good visibility and can open up many doors within the company: a good PCO will see his/her work recognized.
  • Lastly, a PCO position allows you to polish your technical knowledge on the most used software in Québec, MS Project in particular.

 

«’The position of PCO is indeed a good entry point for a professional in a company. After many years of experience as a project manager at BNC, Bombardier, SAQ, BELL, I assumed the position of PCO at HQ.  This has afforded me a better knowledge of this environment and industry. It is necessary to have the humility to do it in order to succeed.’ (Agnès Bédard)

 

 

’You have to start somewhere and not necessarily immediately seek a position similar to the one previously occupied elsewhere. The world is a small place, if we try to go too far, too fast, we risk getting burned. Sometimes, accepting a less demanding position allows us to demonstrate our capacities. Starting with small steps is a must.’ (Agnès Bédard)

 

For more information about this major role in project management in Québec, we recommend reading the following books:

  • « Le guide du PCO – Contrôleur de projet : introduction » by the authors Sébastien Halil, Fabienne Polonovski at Amirouche Sellam.

Guide des nouveaux membres

Les postes en gestion de projet

 

Vous pouvez toujours consulter les offres d’emploi diffusées par le PMI-Montréal. Vous pouvez même vous abonner pour recevoir des offres d’emploi par courriel !

Pour plus d’information, veuillez visiter la section emplois.

 

Plusieurs postes reliés au domaine de la gestion de projet sont accessibles au Québec. Le niveau hiérarchique et le titre dépendent du niveau de responsabilité et de l’envergure ou l’importance du projet. Ils dépendent aussi du « cheminement type » au sein de chaque entreprise. Nous retrouvons par exemple :

Gestionnaire de projet : Il a, normalement, la responsabilité d’organiser de bout en bout le bon déroulement du projet (coûts, échéancier, spécifications, qualité, etc.).

Chargé de projet ou chef de projet : est celui qui dirige un projet, souvent sous la responsabilité d’un coordonnateur de projets.

Coordonnateur de projets : responsable de la gestion de petits projets. Assiste souvent un directeur de projet.

Directeur de projet : le professionnel qui dirige un projet de grande envergure, contrairement à un chargé/chef de projet/coordonnateur. Il pilote le projet, anticipe les impacts, conduit le changement et arbitre les décisions et assure la communication, souvent soutenu par une équipe de gestion de projet.

Contrôleur de projet (ou PCO, abréviation de Project Control Officer) : responsable de la planification, de la mise à jour et du contrôle de projets. Celui qui rend compte de l’état du projet. Souvent le copilote du projet.

 

À noter : on retrouve maintenant, dans les grandes entreprises, des postes liés au portefeuille (portfolio) de projets, où le professionnel mandaté a la responsabilité de gérer un ensemble de projets, souvent en lien avec le plan stratégique de l’entreprise.

 

Plus vous avancez dans votre carrière en gestion de projet, plus vos habiletés interpersonnelles seront sollicitées. Alors, gardez cela à l’esprit lorsque vous recherchez des cours de perfectionnement ou de nouveaux postes.

PERMANENCE OU CONSULTATION ?

 
Une pratique assez commune, au Québec, est celle où le professionnel est un employé permanent d’une agence ou firme-conseil en gestion de projet. L’entreprise s’occupe de chercher les mandats pour vous et vous place chez des clients.


D’autres entreprises emploient directement les professionnels, en tant que permanents, ce qui vous permet de développer une relation à long terme avec l’organisation. Vous ferez partie des employés de l’organisation et aurez droit à ses bénéfices. En tant qu’employé, vous aurez des évaluations de performance, des augmentations de salaire, des promotions, l’établissement d’objectifs de carrière, etc.


Une carrière en consultation est également possible, comme il est souvent le cas dans le domaine des TI (technologie de l’information). Dans ce contexte, vous êtes plus autonome. Souvent, les mandats des consultants sont de 6 à 18 mois. Vous ne ferez pas partie des employés de l’organisation et ne bénéficierez pas des avantages sociaux. Vous aurez probablement à démarrer une entreprise pour facturer vos services — pratique couramment connue comme sur le nom de « pigiste ». Les taux horaires sont en général plus élevés que ceux des postes permanents, car vous devez vous occuper vous-même de vos assurances, prévoir vos vacances et le temps entre-mandats, etc. Un encadrement par des spécialistes en comptabilité et en fiscalité peut s’avérer avantageux.


Les attributs recherchés chez les professionnels qui adoptent un poste permanent sont différents de ceux qui sont demandés ou attendus en consultation. Le CV d’un professionnel permanent montre souvent son intérêt par l’amélioration des processus et les promotions obtenues, tandis que le CV d’un consultant montrera plutôt la variété d’expériences vécues dans différentes organisations.
 

LE RÔLE PARTICULIER DE CONTRÔLEUR DE PROJET (OU PCO) AU QUÉBEC

 
Le contrôleur de projet (ou PCO, abréviation de Project Control Officer, ou vulgairement de Planificateur et Contrôleur de Projet) est le responsable de la planification, de la mise à jour et du contrôle de projets. Le professionnel qui est tenu comme copilote du projet.

Pour quelqu’un qui commence sa carrière en gestion de projet, ou même pour les professionnels assez expérimentés qui arrivent au Québec, le rôle de PCO est vu comme une excellente porte d’entrée dans le marché du travail. En voici les principales raisons :

  • Le poste de PCO ne nécessite pas la prise de décisions majeures. Pour quelqu’un qui arrive au Québec, il est impératif de ne pas « se brûler » dans un poste qui demande la prise de décisions importantes, sans connaître suffisamment la culture et les pratiques québécoises. Le PCO peut observer, analyser et apprendre beaucoup tout en donnant le soutien nécessaire à son directeur de projet ;

  • Il demande une bonne communication, surtout à l’écrit, ce qui donne une bonne occasion d’apprendre le jargon et les coutumes de communication ;

  • Il donne une bonne visibilité dans l’entreprise et peut ouvrir d’autres portes à l’intérieur de l’organisation : un bon PCO verra son travail reconnu ;

  • Enfin, le poste de PCO vous permet de raffiner vos connaissances techniques avec les logiciels couramment utilisés au Québec, en particulier MS Project.

« Le poste de PCO est effectivement une bonne porte d’entrée pour le professionnel dans une entreprise. Après plusieurs années d’expérience en tant que gestionnaire de projet chez BNC, Bombardier, SAQ, BELL j’ai assumé un rôle de PCO chez HQ. Cela m’a permis de mieux connaître ce milieu et cette industrie. Il faut avoir l’humilité de le faire pour réussir. » (Agnès Bédard)

 

« Il faut commencer quelque part. Il ne faudrait pas aller chercher immédiatement un poste similaire à celui que l’on occupait avant ailleurs. Le monde est petit et si l’on essaie d’aller trop loin trop rapidement on risque de se brûler. Parfois, accepter un poste de moindre exigence permet de démontrer ses capacités. Il faut commencer par de petits pas. » (Agnès Bédard)

 

Pour plus d’information sur ce rôle majeur dans le milieu de gestion de projet au Québec, on vous recommande la lecture des livres suivants :

  • « Le contrôleur de projets – PCO (démystifier son rôle) » de l’auteure Nersa W. Dorismond (disponible sur Amazon.ca) ;

  • « Le guide du PCO – Contrôleur de projet : introduction » des auteurs Sébastien Halil, Fabienne Polonovski at Amirouche Sellam, dont la préface a été écrite par l’ex-président du PMI-Montréal, M. Benoit Lalonde (disponible sur Amazon.ca).