Guide for new members

THE CURRICULUM VITAE

The curriculum vitae (CV) is a necessary document for every job search. Well written, it represents the first success factor in the search process. Writing it remains one of the most difficult steps to overcome:

  • How to summarize our path in few lines
  • What are the skills, experience, ability, capacity and personality components that might attracts the recruiter’s attention?
  • What kind of information that should be highlighted?
  • How to display all these elements in order for the reader to catch the important information at a glance?

 

It is not evident to find the right recipe to build an efficient CV, but some tips might help you with the process in Québec:

 

LANGUAGE

It is extremely important that your CV respects the rules of the chosen language! Not only the grammar and spelling, but also those of vocabulary, syntax, punctuation, typography and style as well.

 

If your CV is written in French, a good resource to check is the Québec office of the French language (https://www.oqlf.gouv.qc.ca/accueil.aspx), also its linguistic help bank (https://www.oqlf.gouv.qc.ca/ressources/bdl.html) that offers answers to the most frequent asked questions related to the Molière language.

 

To write your CV in French or English, the Antidote tool is recommended. It is a writing assistant software that includes a corrector. The software is used to a large extent in the professional environment in Québec: https://www.antidote.info.

 

NUMBER OF PAGES

It is recommended to limit the number of pages of a CV to two (2). The purpose of this document is not to tell your whole story but to be attractive enough to get an interview.

 

NO PICTURE

In Québec, we do not add pictures to a CV.

 

PERSONAL INFORMATION

Do not mention on your CV, your full address, your age, your sex, your religion, your marital status, number of children, you driver’s licence number, your origin, your handicaps, and specially your social insurance number (SIN).

 

In the selection process in Québec, the law prohibits the transmission of these informations. Moreover, some informations might be miss interpreted by the recruiter (like for example, the residential address that might be too far from the employer’s address and therefore gives the wrong impression that the candidate might have difficulty coming to work).

 

 

«The city where you live will be an important information on your CV if you apply for a position that is in another city. In this case, it will be interesting to mention, in the cover letter, that you will be willing to relocate if the position is given to you. » (Maryse Gendron)

 

The selection process in Québec must be exclusively based on the professional attributes of the candidates and your CV must focus on these elements.

 

Do not mention the hobbies, it is not a relevant information.

 

Limit yourself into only indicate your phone number and an email address where the employer can reach you if you are selected for an interview. Also indicate the hyperlink towards your LinkedIn profile, an often-used tool by the candidates and recruiters throughout the hiring process.

 

Note: at the end of a selection process, when you are selected by an organisation as an ideal candidate to fill the position, the recruiter askes usually for professional references and might also run a criminal or credit check. If you give the permission to your future employer to do so, he will ask you your date of birth, full address and your SIN (Social Insurance Number). It is a common practice that takes place at the end of the hiring process. This search might even be done after a formal offer. In this case, the offer will be conditioned to the results of the investigation.

 

The recruiter does not contact your current employer unless you authorise it.

 

GOALS, PROFILE AND INFORMATIONS TO BE MENTIONED FIRST

 

Normally, the education is not the first information that a recruiter is looking for in a CV. Your experience weighs way more and should be emphasized, before even your education. A significant number of degrees does not bring a big advantage in a selection process.

 

 

« When we have work experience, we should not emphasize the degrees on a CV. This might be perceived in a wrong way. Make your professional experience more valuable no matter in which part of the word it took place. » (Agnès Bédard)

 

When you mention your professional experience, mention first the name of the company that you worked for, afterwards, your title and few lines to present your responsibilities. If you are an experienced candidate, make sure to mention your most remarkable achievements. The period of time that you occupied in each position is usually aligned to the right of your document. It is possible to indicate only the starting and ending year (instead of months).

 

CERTIFICATIONS

 

In Québec, we appreciate certified professionals! Highlight your certifications in project management or those related to your area of expertise because they are highly valued in a hiring process.

 

 

 

For more information, please visit the « certifications» section of this guide.

 

 

OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION

 

In Québec, volunteering is well received. So, if you work as a volunteer, you should mention it in your CV.

 

 

 

Remember that PMI-Montréal offers multiples volunteering opportunities!

For more information, please visit the section «volunteering opportunities» of this guide

 

 

If you obtained prizes or acknowledgments mention them as well.

 

It is always important to have computer knowledge on your CV. In project management, you must not forget to mention your knowledge of Microsoft Project and Microsoft Office (Word, Excel and Powerpoint).

 

A CV OF A JUNIOR PROFESSIONAL COMPARED TO A SENIOR PROFESSIONAL

The Junior professional doesn’t have much experience to mention on a CV. He has to emphasize his academic achievements, projects that he worked on before, extracurricular activities (volunteering, etc.) and performances.

 

On the other hand, a CV of an experienced professional has to focus on his experience and professional achievements. The education is less important and not supposed to be emphasized at the front page of the CV.

 

THE CV BASED ON THE FIELD OF ACTIVITY

It is always recommended to keep your CV up to date for the position you are applying for in order to highlight all the elements in your experience and profile that are linked to the position.

 

Depending on your field of activity, a CV could be formal, short or long.

 

THE CV FOR A PERMANENT POSITION VS A CONSULTANT POSITION

The career path of a professional who is looking for a permanent position is normally axed on his relationship with the companies where he worked. The recruiter will verify the employment stability, which means the frequency of changing companies. Moreover, the achievements have to go beyond delivering projects within the budget, deadline and according to the client’s criteria; and show involvement in the success of the organisation, the initiative of improving the process and involvement in the comities, etc.

 

For those looking for a career as a consultant, the best candidate usually presents many diversified professional experiences within different organisations. It is okay if the candidate has worked few months or few years within the same organisation before changing for another one. It is specially about showing that his projects were well managed or that he gave the necessary support to the projects that he worked on. (as PCO for example).

 

THE CV FOR A CANDIDATE WITH NO WORK PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE IN CANADA

if you find yourself in such a situation, you must mention your achievements within your experience in a way that a recruiter will understand. The recruiter must be able to place your experience in a local context. You must emphasize your transversal skills, those who can be applied and used in other fields and other contexts.

 

Don’t be afraid to mention the country where your experience took place.

 

 

«Your name and your two last employments are elements that will be looked at first in your CV by recruiters.  If your two last employments were out of the country, you can assure the recruiter by placing all relevant elements clearly in a professional summary that is located at the top of your CV (PMP, “x” years of experience in project management, involvement with PMI-Montréal chapter, etc.). » (Maryse Gendron)

 

 

SOME WRITING TIPS

Tips by Mrs. Maryse Gendron:

  • The CV is the starting point of a job search process. It has to be perfect, so always linked to the concerned position. The CV has to be written and adjusted to the tasks descriptions. Although, it remains only one step in the hiring process.
  • You must not give all the information on a CV, especially if it doesn’t add any value to the main goal of being contacted for an interview
  • The recruiters do not have much time to read and decode all the information on a CV, therefore it must remain brief. A good way to do it while creating value is to mention numbers, for example, how many resources you were responsible for; what was the scope of the project, its budget? How many users were affected by the software delivered by your project? How much was the net profit generated by your project?

 

Tips by Christiana Simonsen (taken from Guide de recherche d’emploi de l’Emploi-Québec, 2015) :

  • Be brief (one to two pages maximum). The employers receive so many CVs and they put a side those that are too long.
  • Choose carefully the words. Use a simple vocabulary with which you feel comfortable.
  • Privilege the positive sentences and action verbs like administrate, analyse, compile, manage, inform.
  • Only give truthful information. Verify your contacts information (phone number, email address).
  • Errors to be avoided:
  • Spelling errors, grammar and syntax might indicate a lack of professionalism.
  • Make someone that masters the language correct your CV.
  • Incoherence might lead to believing that you are confused. Delimitate clearly every section (professional goal, education, work experience, etc.). Avoid contradiction.
  • A humoristic CV might give impression of lack of reliability.

 

Tips by Mrs. Jessica Glazer:

 

EXAMPLES

Many sources are available online to give more interesting tips and some CV samples:

Guide des nouveaux membres

Le curriculum vitae

 

Le curriculum vitae (CV) est un document incontournable pour toute recherche d’emploi. Bien rédigé, il constitue le premier facteur de succès dans un processus de recherche. Sa rédaction n’en demeure pas moins l’une des étapes les plus difficiles à surmonter :

  • Comment résumer son parcours en quelques lignes ?

  • Quels sont les éléments de compétence, d’expérience, d’habileté, de capacité et de personnalité qui peuvent retenir l’attention d’un recruteur ?

  • Quelles informations faut-il mettre en valeur ?

  • Comment disposer tous les éléments de telle sorte que son lecteur perçoive les informations les plus pertinentes en un coup d’œil ?

Il n’est pas évident de trouver la bonne recette pour produire un CV efficace, mais quelques astuces peuvent vous aider dans votre démarche au Québec :

 

LANGUE

Il est extrêmement important que votre CV respecte les règles de la langue choisie ! Pas seulement celles de grammaire et d’orthographe (dont Word s’occupe facilement), mais celles de lexique, syntaxe, ponctuation, typographie et style aussi.

Si votre CV est écrit en français, une bonne ressource à consulter est l’Office québécois de la langue française, notamment sa Banque de dépannage linguistique qui nous offre des réponses aux questions les plus fréquentes portant sur la langue de Molière.

Pour écrire votre CV en français ou en anglais, l’outil Antidote est recommandé. Il est, un logiciel d’aide à la rédaction qui intègre un correcteur et est largement utilisé dans le milieu professionnel au Québec.


NOMBRE DE PAGES

Il est recommandé de limiter le nombre de pages d’un CV à deux (2). Le but de ce document n’est pas de raconter toute votre histoire, mais d’être assez attirant pour obtenir une entrevue.


PAS DE PHOTO

Au Québec, on ne met pas la photo sur le CV.


INFORMATIONS PERSONNELLES

Ne mentionnez pas, dans votre CV, votre adresse complète, votre âge, votre orientation sexuelle, votre religion, votre état civil, le nombre d’enfants, votre numéro de permis de conduire, votre origine, vos handicaps, et surtout votre numéro d’assurance sociale (NAS).

Dans un processus de sélection au Québec, la loi interdit la transmission de ces informations. De plus, certaines informations pourraient être mal interprétées par le recruteur (comme l’adresse résidentielle, par exemple, qui peut être loin de l’adresse de l’employeur et ainsi donner la fausse impression que le candidat pourrait avoir de la difficulté à s’y rendre).

 

« La ville où vous habitez sera une information importante dans un CV si vous appliquez pour un poste qui se trouve dans une autre ville. Dans ce cas, il sera intéressant de mentionner, dans la lettre de présentation, que vous avez l’intention de déménager si le poste vous est confié. » (Maryse Gendron)
 
Le processus de sélection au Québec devrait se baser exclusivement sur les attributs professionnels des candidats et votre CV doit être axé sur ces éléments.


Ne mentionnez pas les activités de loisir, ce n’est pas une information pertinente.


Limitez-vous à indiquer votre numéro de téléphone et une adresse courriel pour que l’employeur vous contacte s’il vous sélectionne pour une entrevue. Indiquez aussi l’hyperlien vers votre profil LinkedIn, un outil très utilisé par candidats et recruteurs dans un processus d’embauche.


Note : à la fin d’un processus de sélection, quand l’organisation vous a choisi comme candidat idéal pour doter le poste, le recruteur vous demande normalement des références professionnelles et peut aussi faire une enquête criminelle ou de crédit. Si vous donnez la permission à votre futur employeur de le faire, il vous demandera votre date de naissance, votre adresse complète et votre NAS (numéro d’assurance sociale). Il s’agit d’une pratique assez commune, qui se fait à la fin du processus de recrutement. Cette recherche peut même être faite après une offre formelle d’embauche. Dans ce cas, l’offre d’emploi sera conditionnelle aux résultats de la requête.


Le recruteur ne contactera pas votre employeur actuel si vous ne l’y autorisez pas.
 

OBJECTIFS, PROFIL ET INFORMATIONS À SOULIGNER AU DÉBUT

Une phrase présentant votre objectif professionnel n’est pas nécessaire. Cependant, quelques lignes pour résumer votre profil seraient quelque chose d’intéressant à considérer. Les recruteurs aiment savoir tout de suite si le candidat parle anglais ou français, son nombre d’années d’expérience, s’il a une certification PMP®, son domaine d’expertise et ses habiletés informatiques.

 

EXPÉRIENCE PROFESSIONNELLE ET FORMATION

Normalement, la formation n’est pas la première information qu’un recruteur cherche dans un CV. Votre expérience compte beaucoup plus et devrait être mise en évidence, avant même votre formation. Un nombre élevé de diplômes n’apporte généralement pas un gros avantage dans un processus de sélection.

 

« Lorsque l’on a des expériences de travail, il ne faut pas mettre trop d’accent sur ses diplômes dans un CV. Cela pourrait être parfois mal perçu. Faites valoir votre expérience professionnelle et cela, peu importe dans quelle région du monde elle a eu lieu. » (Agnès Bédard)

 
 
Quand vous mentionnez votre expérience professionnelle, indiquez d’abord le nom de la compagnie pour laquelle vous avez travaillé, ensuite votre titre et quelques lignes pour présenter vos responsabilités. Si vous êtes un candidat chevronné, indiquez vos réalisations les plus remarquables. La période pendant laquelle vous avez travaillé dans chaque poste est normalement présentée alignée à droite dans le document. Vous pouvez indiquer seulement les années de début et de fin (pas de mois).
 

CERTIFICATIONS

Au Québec, on valorise les professionnels certifiés ! Mettez en évidence vos certifications en gestion de projet ou celles de votre domaine de travail, car elles sont très bien cotées dans un processus de sélection.
 
 
Pour plus d’information, veuillez visiter la section « Les certifications » de ce guide.

 

AUTRES INFORMATIONS IMPORTANTES À SOULIGNER

Au Québec, le bénévolat est bien vu. Donc, si vous avez travaillé en tant que bénévole, vous devriez le mentionner dans votre CV.

 

Rappelez-vous que le PMI-Montréal offre plusieurs occasions de bénévolat !

Pour plus d’information, veuillez visiter la section « Les opportunités de bénévolat » de ce guide.

 
 
Si vous avez obtenu des prix ou des mentions de reconnaissance, mentionnez-les.


Vos connaissances informatiques sont toujours bien importantes dans un CV. Dans le domaine de la gestion de projet, l’information à ne pas oublier est votre niveau de connaissance de Microsoft Project et de Microsoft Office (Word, Excel et PowerPoint).


LE CV D’UN PROFESSIONNEL JUNIOR COMPARÉ AVEC LE CV D’UN PROFESSIONNEL SÉNIOR

Le professionnel junior n’a pas beaucoup d’expérience à mentionner dans son CV. Il doit mettre l’accent sur ses réalisations scolaires, les projets dans lesquels il a travaillé, ses activités extracurriculaires (bénévolat, etc.) et sa performance académique.

D’autre part, le CV d’un professionnel expérimenté doit être axé sur son expérience et ses réalisations professionnelles. Sa formation est moins importante et ne devrait pas être mise en évidence à la une du CV.


LE CV EN FONCTION DU DOMAINE D’ACTIVITÉ

Il est toujours recommandé d’adapter votre CV au poste pour lequel vous postulez, afin de mettre en valeur les éléments de votre profil et de votre expérience qui ont un rapport plus important avec le poste.

Dépendamment de votre domaine d’activité, le CV peut être plus ou moins formel, plus court ou plus long.

 

LE CV POUR UN POSTE PERMANENT VERSUS LE CV POUR UN POSTE DE CONSULTANT


Le cheminement de carrière d’un professionnel qui cherche un poste permanent est normalement axé sur sa relation avec les compagnies pour lesquelles il a travaillé. Le recruteur va vérifier la stabilité d’emploi, c’est-à-dire la fréquence de changement de compagnie. De plus, vos réalisations doivent aller au-delà de la livraison des projets dans le budget, dans l’échéancier et selon les critères de qualité du client, et démontrer leur implication pour le succès de l’organisation, les initiatives d’amélioration des processus, l’implication dans des comités, etc.
 
Pour ceux qui cherchent plutôt une carrière en tant que consultant, un bon candidat présente normalement un grand nombre d’expériences professionnelles diverses, dans différentes organisations. Ce n’est pas grave si le candidat a travaillé quelques mois ou quelques années dans la même organisation avant de passer à une autre. Il s’agit surtout de démontrer qu’il a bien géré ses projets ou qu’il a bien supporté les projets pour lesquels il a travaillé (en tant que PCO, par exemple).

 

LE CV POUR UN CANDIDAT QUI N’A PAS D’EXPÉRIENCE PROFESSIONNELLE AU CANADA

Si vous vous trouvez dans cette situation, vous devez indiquer, dans vos expériences, vos réalisations dans un langage que le recruteur va comprendre. Le recruteur doit être capable de situer votre expérience dans un contexte local. Vous devez mettre l’accent sur les habiletés transversales, celles qui s’appliqueraient à d’autres domaines ou d’autres contextes.


Il ne faut pas avoir peur de mentionner le nom du pays où votre expérience a eu lieu.
 
« Votre nom et vos deux derniers emplois sont des éléments que les recruteurs regardent en premier dans votre CV. Si vos deux derniers emplois pertinents pour le poste se trouvent à l’extérieur du pays, vous pouvez rassurer le recruteur en plaçant des éléments pertinents bien en vue dans une synthèse professionnelle située tout au début de votre CV (PMP, “x” années d’expérience en gestion de projet, implication au chapitre du PMI-Montréal, etc.). » (Maryse Gendron)

 

QUELQUES ASTUCES D’ÉCRITURE

Trucs de Mme Maryse Gendron :

  • Le CV est le point de départ d’un processus de recherche d’emploi. Il faut qu’il soit parfait, donc toujours en lien avec l’offre d’emploi concerné. Le CV doit être rédigé et adapté selon la description de tâche. Toutefois, il ne demeure qu’une étape dans la démarche de recherche d’emploi.

  • Il ne faut pas donner trop d’informations dans un CV, surtout si elles n’ajoutent pas de valeur dans l’objectif de se faire appeler en entrevue.

  • Les recruteurs n’ont pas de temps de lire et décoder toute l’information fournie dans un CV, alors il faut être succinct. Une bonne manière de le faire tout en créant de la valeur est de mentionner des chiffres, par exemple, de combien de ressources vous étiez responsable. Quelle était l’envergure du projet, son budget ? Combien d’utilisateurs ont été affectés par le logiciel livré par votre projet ? Quel est le bénéfice net qui s’est dégagé de votre projet ?

 

Trucs de Mme Christiana Simonsen (extraits du Guide de recherche d’emploi de l’Emploi-Québec, 2015) :

  • Soyez bref (une à deux pages maximum). Les employeurs reçoivent beaucoup de CV et ils mettent de côté ceux qui sont trop longs.

  • Choisissez soigneusement les mots. Utilisez un vocabulaire simple avec lequel vous vous sentez à l’aise.

  • Privilégiez les phrases positives et les verbes d’action comme administrer, analyser, compiler, diriger, informer.

  • Donnez seulement des renseignements véridiques. Vérifiez bien vos coordonnées (numéro téléphone, adresse courriel).

  • Les erreurs à éviter :
    • Les fautes d’orthographe, de grammaire et de syntaxe peuvent dénoter un manque de professionnalisme.
    • Faites corriger votre CV par quelqu’un qui maitrise bien la langue.
    • L’incohérence peut laisser croire que la confusion règne dans votre esprit. Délimitez clairement chacune des sections (objectif professionnel, études, expériences de travail, etc.). Évitez de vous contredire.
    • Le CV humoristique peut donner l’impression que vous manquez de sérieux.

 

Trucs de Mme Jessica Glazer :

 

DES EXEMPLES

Plusieurs sources sont disponibles sur Internet pour vous donner d’autres trucs intéressants et même quelques exemples de CV :