Guide for new members

The job offer

 

Once you pass the selection process and the company chooses you as the ideal candidate for the position, they will submit a job offer. This offer is made formally, by means of a letter signed by the person in charge of the position. Normally, it will be the person who will be your immediate superior.

 

 

You can always consult the website of the Standards, Equity, Health and Safety Commission if you have questions related to the working conditions proposed by your employer.: http://www.cnesst.gouv.qc.ca/Pages/accueil.aspx.

 

 

It's important to understand the elements that make up a typical job posting letter :

 

 

TITLE

 

The offer will confirm the exact title of the position, validating if it is a position of project manager, project director, etc. It will also specify the duration of the contract which can be determined or of an indefinite duration.

 

BASE SALARY

 

Compensation (salary) is normally stated in dollars per year (gross salary), but the employer will specify how he agrees to pay the salary; the beginning of the pay period; the method of payment; and other benefits with monetary value (eg, auto, housing).

 

HOURLY BASE

 

In Québec, organizations often offer a basic schedule of 35 to 40 hours per week for full-time work. In addition, the offer will specify if you will have a fixed or variable schedule. This information is presented with base salary.

 

VACATION

 

The employer determines the number of weeks of vacation per year that will be offered to you at the entrance. The offer will specify the reference year for the calculation of vacations.

 

Employers often offer two weeks the first year. Among the factors that influence the number of annual vacation days, there is your work experience in the field (junior vs senior). In other words, depending on your experience, it is possible to negotiate your annual vacation at the entrance.

 

The offer will specify public holidays, in addition to the other leaves planned in the company (eg leaves due to the particular constraints of the employer).

 

OVERTIME

 

Different approaches exist for overtime, especially in the area of ​​project management, where we know that work can be concentrated in certain periods (at the end of the project, where deliverables are expected, for example): may pay overtime, may allow you to manage a bank of hours or may simply not pay them. The last option is normally used for higher level positions (eg senior or executive).

 

Overtime can be paid at 2, 1.5, or 1 times your hourly rate, depending on several factors such as seniority, the company's internal policy, or the terms of the collective agreement, if applicable.

 

A letter of offer will not present all the details of the hours policy additional information, but will indicate its general aspects. The details will be presented to you in the first days at work.

 

PROBATION PERIOD

 

It is regularly mentioned that you will go through a probationary period, the standard term is three months, but can go up to six months.

 

START DATE

 

The job offer indicates the date you start working. This date is normally defined by mutual agreement between the candidate and the employer. It is important that this day be clearly indicated in the letter. This is often Monday, two to three weeks after the offer is issued.

 

EXPIRATION DATE OF THE OFFER AND ANSWER

 

Usually, the employer will give you a few days to make the decision to accept or reject your offer. It is normally expected to be accepted, because if the employer has come to the point of making an offer, it is because the candidate and the employer already agree with most of the elements of their agreement, even if it is informally during the selection process.

 

However, if something does not suit you, you can make the decision to negotiate some items or even refuse the offer. Entering negotiation is an important decision. The employer's response can be positive and open, as he can simply withdraw the offer. Everything is possible so you have to think before making this type of decision.

 

Your acceptance will be confirmed by the signature of the letter, which you will return to the employer. All this communication is normally done by email with the use of digitized signed documents.

 

If you participate in several selection processes and you receive more than one job offer at the same time, or if you receive a job offer from one organization, but you are still waiting for the answer from another that interests you more, think carefully before making your decision. Because to accept an offer and to go back later is a very bad attitude and can close doors in the future. It is always advisable to keep a good relationship with the organization, even if you decide not to accept his offer. Remember that a selection process is expensive for organizations and your time is seen as important by employers. So no party wants to feel like they are wasting their time in the hiring process. Always be professional, transparent and candid with your potential employer.

Guide des nouveaux membres

L'offre d'emploi

 

Une fois que vous passez le processus de sélection et que l’entreprise vous choisit comme candidat idéal pour le poste, elle vous présentera une offre d’emploi. Cette offre se fait de manière formelle, au moyen d’une lettre signée par la personne responsable du poste. Normalement, ce sera la personne qui sera votre supérieur immédiat.

 

Vous pouvez toujours consulter le site web de la Commission des normes, de l’équité, de la santé et de la sécurité du travail si vous avez de questions reliées aux conditions de travail proposées par votre employeur.

 

Il est important de comprendre les éléments qui composent une lettre typique d’offre d’emploi :

 

TITRE

L’offre va vous confirmer le titre exact du poste, en vous validant s’il s’agit d’un poste de gestionnaire de projet, directeur de projet, etc. Elle précisera aussi la durée du contrat qui peut être déterminée ou bien d’une durée indéterminée.

 

SALAIRE DE BASE

La rémunération (salaire) est normalement indiquée en dollars par année (salaire brut), mais l’employeur précisera comment il s’engage à verser le salaire ; le commencement de la période de paie ; le mode de versement ; et autres avantages ayant une valeur pécuniaire (ex. : auto, logement).

 

BASE HORAIRE

Au Québec, les organisations proposent souvent un horaire de base de 35 à 40 heures par semaine, pour un travail à temps plein. De plus, l’offre précisera si vous aurez un horaire fixe ou bien variable. Cette information est présentée avec le salaire de base.

 

VACANCES

L’employeur détermine le nombre de semaines de vacances par année qui vous seront offertes à l’entrée. L’offre précisera l’année de référence pour le calcul des vacances.

Les employeurs offrent souvent deux semaines la première année. Parmi les facteurs qui influencent le nombre de jours de vacances annuelles, il y a votre expérience de travail dans le domaine (junior vs sénior). Autrement dit, selon votre expérience, il est possible de négocier vos vacances annuelles à l’entrée.

L’offre précisera les jours fériés et chômés, en plus des autres congés prévus dans l’entreprise (ex. : congés liés aux contraintes particulières de l’employeur).

 

HEURES SUPPLÉMENTAIRES

Différentes approches existent pour les heures supplémentaires, surtout dans le domaine de la gestion de projet, où nous savons que le travail peut se concentrer dans certaines périodes (à la fin du projet, où les livrables sont attendus, par exemple) : l’organisation peut payer les heures supplémentaires, peut vous permettre de gérer une banque d’heures ou peut simplement ne pas les payer. La dernière option est normalement utilisée pour les postes de plus haut niveau (ex. : sénior ou cadre).

Les heures supplémentaires peuvent être payées à 2, 1,5, ou 1 fois votre taux horaire, dépendamment de plusieurs facteurs comme l’ancienneté, la politique interne de la compagnie ou les conditions définies par la convention collective, le cas échéant.

Une lettre d’offre ne va pas présenter tous les détails de la politique concernant les heures

supplémentaires, mais elle en indiquera les aspects généraux. Les détails vous seront plutôt présentés dans les premiers jours au travail.

 

PÉRIODE DE PROBATION

Il est régulièrement mentionné que vous passerez par une période de probation, la durée standard est de trois mois, mais peut aller jusqu’à six mois.

 

DATE DE DÉBUT

L’offre d’emploi indique la date où vous commencerez à travailler. Cette date est normalement définie en commun accord entre le candidat et l’employeur. Il est important que cette journée soit clairement indiquée dans la lettre. C’est souvent le lundi, deux à trois semaines après l’émission de l’offre.

 

DATE D’EXPIRATION DE L’OFFRE ET RÉPONSE

Normalement, l’employeur vous donnera quelques jours pour que vous preniez la décision d’accepter ou de refuser son offre. Il est normalement attendu qu’elle soit acceptée, parce que si l’employeur est arrivé au point de vous faire une offre, c’est que le candidat et l’employeur sont déjà d’accord avec la plupart des éléments de leur entente, même si c’est de manière informelle durant le processus de sélection.

Cependant, si quelque chose ne vous convient pas, vous pouvez prendre la décision de négocier quelques éléments ou même de refuser l’offre. Entrer en négociation est une décision importante. La réaction de l’employeur peut être positive et ouverte, comme il peut simplement retirer l’offre. Tout est possible donc il faut réfléchir avant de prendre ce type de décision.

Votre acceptation sera confirmée par la signature de la lettre, que vous allez retourner à l’employeur. Toute cette communication se fait normalement par courriel avec l’utilisation de documents signés numérisés.

Si vous participez à plusieurs processus de sélection et vous recevez plus qu’une offre d’emploi en même temps, ou si vous recevez une offre d’emploi d’une organisation, mais vous attendez encore la réponse d’une autre qui vous intéresse davantage, réfléchissez bien avant de prendre votre décision. Car accepter une offre et revenir en arrière par la suite est une attitude très mal vue et peut vous fermez de portes dans le futur. Il est toujours recommandé de garder une bonne relation avec l’organisation, même si vous décidez de ne pas accepter son offre. N’oubliez pas qu’un processus de sélection coûte cher aux organisations et votre temps est vu comme important par les employeurs. Alors, aucune partie ne veut avoir l’impression de perdre leur temps dans le processus d’embauche. Soyez toujours professionnel, transparent et franc avec votre employeur potentiel.