Guide for new members

THE INTEGRATION OF NEWCOMERS INTO THE JOB MARKET

The integration of a professional in project management in the job market can be challenging for many. Meanwhile, with adequate attention to local cultural aspects, Québec is a very open location for qualified immigrants that offers multiple interesting opportunities.

 

 

For those wondering about different work opportunities in project management in Québec, know that the industry of IT (Information Technology) is known as the most international and most open to hire immigrants. Meanwhile, after few years of local experience, other positions will open up to allow entry into other industries.

 

Normally, the integration of newcomers into the job market starts with learning the language and it is extremely important to know that French is the only official language in the province of Québec .

Even though the majority of the population is bilingual (French-English) and that a good knowledge of English is often required in multiple job positions— specially in project management— the language at work remains the French language and mastering it is a key to integration for the newcomer.

 

Afterwards, the importance of self-evaluation of the newcomer project manager must be emphasized in order for him/her to know his/her strengths and weaknesses in a Québec project management context. Beside technical skills — also known as hard skills — human qualities and relationships, or soft skills, are the most cherished by recruiters and managers, and it could be what distinguishes you in an interview or even in accomplishing your work after being hired. Even though our profession is to manage people not machines, technical skills often outweigh the qualitative skills.

To achieve that, the newcomer can use tools like the MBTI (Myers-Briggs Type Indicator) to identify their personality type and be aware of the strengths and what needs to be improved.

 

To engage in the Québec job market integration, many resources are available for the newcomers. CREMCV (Montréal-Downtown job search club) is a good example, it’s a partner of PMI-Montréal that offers a professional coaching program for project managers. For more information, please visit: http://cremcv.com/gestionprojet/.

 

Here are some tips and messages from our experts:

« In Québec, the presence of immigrants is important. In a work or study environment we have to respect one another and assert what each does better. The professional who doesn’t know his work environment yet has to express it and refer to the right resources to get the right answer. Even when having a discussion between Québecers, sometimes it doesn’t seem like we are speaking the same language. Imagine then when you gather people that do not share the same mother tongue language in one discussion. So, it is normal to ask questions in order to better understand the message. Don’t be embarrassed to do it. » (Agnès Bédard)

 

«The MGP week is an interesting activity organized by the project management master student at UQAM. Every fall they offer presentations as well as networking opportunities for all those interested in been part of the Québec job market. » (Brian Hobbs)

 

THE WORSHOP « THE PATH TO PERSONAL SUCCESS…THE IMMIGRANT ROUTE »

The workshop « The Path to personal success…The immigrant route » is an interactive activity that helps professionals who arrive from other countries to find their path throughout the challenging immigration process. Already in its 3rd edition, this workshop is presented few times a year and is a great opportunity to interact with different people that are in the same situation, to learn by experience exchange in between the participants and the facilitator, moreover, it gives 3 PDU to the certified professionals.

 

The workshop relies on applying proven concepts of change management and supplies tools to help prepare an action plan toward personal and professional success in the Québec immigration process.

 

It was originally designed by Mrs Merling Sapene, author of the book « Éviter les bosses lors du trajet d’intégration » (Available on Amazon.ca) and delivered by M. Alcides Santopietro, a professional originally from brazil who has been living in Québec for the past 11 years.

 

 

WORKING IN QUÉBEC, A NEW ARRIVAL'S PERSPECTIVE

 

« The job market in Québec has so many qualified immigrants. It is important to know how to work in a multicultural environment. The differences in a multicultural environment goes beyond the linguistic aspects: it covers the fundamental values of each individual which might seem uninteresting for some and offensive for others. For example, the immigrants from France realize quickly that even though speaking the same language as a Québecer, the culture, the way of seeing things and even the way they work in a project mode is way too different.

 

 

An aspect of project management that is affected by the cultural differences is schedule processing.

For example, in certain cultures, if the project is late, it is still possible to contact the client and explain the situation, and eventually plan a new delivery date for the product. Whereas in other cultures, this action might seem inadmissible.

 

In some cultures, family is more important than work, whereas in others, work always takes a more important aspect. This difference is expressed in the project management environment through extra hours put into finalizing a deliverable promised to a client. The cultural differences in a work environment might cause some discomfort for some people; It is important to identify these differences and abide by them in order to maintain a productive and respectable work environment.

 

Risk aversion is more current is some cultures more than others. This difference might be cause conflicts.

 

Ethics and transparency are values that are more important sometimes than the profit. Profit is valued but not at the expense of respect and ethics. The exaggerated profit might sometimes be wrongly perceived. Like in any society, it is important to identify and recognize the cultural differences and abide by them to succeed.

 

The concept of authority differs according to cultures: for example, use of the familiar form toward an immediate superior and considering him/her as a friend might be acceptable or not.

 

All immigrants find themselves at least once in a situation where they will be saying: ‘’In my home country, it doesn’t work this way’’. In some countries, projects are managed by using a heavier and more structured approach than here. Increasingly in Québec, in the IT environment for example, instead of writing an architecture documents of 80 pages before starting to write the code, we will privilege an immediate trial of a 1st solution in order to experiment without a delay (related to the agile philosophy). It is important to understand this reality to blend in this culture. »

 (Marc Messier)

PROGRAMS FOR THE NEW ARRIVALS

«Immigrants bring many interesting assets into the project management field. For example, their international experience, their capacity to adapt and a different way to see things, which is looked at positively by some employers. » (Marc Messier)

 

The province of Québec offers various programs to facilitate the integration of new comers into the job market. For those who are seeking opportunities in the project management, there are 3 that stand out:

 

 

1.     INTEGRATION-WORK-TRANING

 

In May 2017, the integration office of the new comers (le Bureau d’intégration des nouveaux arrivants à Montréal (BINAM)) of the city of Montréal, the government of Québec, the Chamber of Commerce of Metropolitan Montréal and 4 of Québec’s biggest firms created the project Integration-Work-Training to help Montréal’s qualified immigrants to obtain a first local work experience and developpe new skills through training and support. This program was inspired from the city’s professional sponsorship program (Programme de Parrainage Professionnel -PPP).

 

The participating firms (Desjardins Group, Hydro-Québec, Intact Assurance and SNC-Lavalin) are worthwhile for career development in project management, since they have project management offices, experiences and recognized expertise. This is a paid program, and every year there is between 12 to 15 qualified immigrant workers that can profit from this opportunity.

 

The immigrants admitted to the program must have no work experience in Canada or the United states, they must have arrived in less than five years and must have a degree and experience within the field of the opened positions. The positions are posted on the participating firms’ websites with the suffix « Integration-Work-Training ».

 

For more information, please visit the program’s webpage:

http://ville.montreal.qc.ca/portal/page?_pageid=8258,142963395&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL.

 

2.     INTERCONNEXION PROGRAM

 

Organised by the Chamber of Commerce of Metropolitan Montréal, with the support of Emploi Québec, the interconnexion program encourages the contact between Montreal’s organisations and the new comers to help them in their professional integration. The twinning activities are free, various and includes:

 

  • Immersion in enterprise: meeting with professionals; unpaid internships of 4 weeks maximum in a company;
  • Professional contact: discovery day—career; express mentoring; workshop « Communicating with employers »;
  • Sectoral networking: training for business networking and interview process; sectoral conference; flash interviews session, workforce and diversity networking.

 

The sectorial activity of the interconnexion program with profiles in project management are: Construction, environment and manufacturing, information technology (IT) and transport.

 

For more information or to subscribe to the program, please visit the program webpage: http://acclr.ccmm.ca/fr/services/main-d-oeuvre/programme-interconnexion/.

 

 

3.     TRAINING COMPAGNIES

 

They are companies that welcome workers in training throughout an approach based on practice « learning by doing ». Training companies do the same activities as the real ones that are in a globalization context (international finance management, marketing strategies adapted to different cultures, multicultural team management, etc.), having a local work experience, improving professional attitude and skills (time management, priority management, team work, etc.) and having job-search assistance (from skill assessment to interview preparation).

 

The Canadian network of training companies offers a directory of member companies in each province. Please visit their website to know more about the 20 companies in Québec that participate in this program: http://rcee-cpfn.ca/fr/notre-reseau/.

 

The maximum unpaid participation period is 15 weeks, but you can receive your employment insurance benefit or welfare, and depending on the situation, you can have an additional financial support.

 

For more information and to know more about the admission requirements, visit the program’s website: http://rcee-cpfn.ca/fr/.

 

REFERENCES

Bourel, Fanny (2017, May 25). A pilot project to facilitate the professional integration of immigrants, on the website immigrant Québec. Visited April 4, 2018Un projet-pilote pour faciliter l’intégration professionnelle des immigrants, sur le site Immigrant Québec. Consulté le 4 avr. 2018.

https://immigrantquebec.com/fr/consulter/actualites/projet-integration-travail-formation

Interconnexion (no date), on the website ‘’Travail immigrants’’. Visited on April 4, 2018.

https://www.travailimmigrants.com/ressources/chambre-de-commerce-du-montreal-metropolitain-ccmm/interconnexion

Le Projet Intégration-Travail-Formation : Pour un parcours simplifié d’intégration professionnelle des travailleurs immigrants à Montréal (2017, 25 mai), sur le site Newswire. Consulté le 4 avr. 2018.

https://www.newswire.ca/fr/news-releases/le-projet-integration-travail-formation--pour-un-parcours-simplifie-dintegration-professionnelle-des-travailleurs-immigrants-a-montreal-624345123.html

Guide des nouveaux membres

L'intégration des nouveaux arrivants au marché du travail

 

L’intégration du professionnel en gestion de projet au marché de travail peut représenter un défi pour plusieurs. Cependant, avec une attention adéquate aux aspects culturels locaux, le Québec est un endroit très ouvert aux immigrants qualifiés et qui offre de nombreuses occasions intéressantes.

 

Pour toute personne qui se questionne sur les différentes opportunités de travail en gestion de projet au Québec, sachez que le secteur des TI (technologies de l’information) est reconnu comme le plus international, le plus ouvert à embaucher des immigrants. Cependant, suite à quelques années d’expériences locales, des portes s’ouvriront pour vous permettre d’entrer dans d’autres secteurs.

 

Normalement, l’intégration des nouveaux arrivants sur le marché du travail passe par l’adaptation de la langue et il extrêmement important que vous sachiez que la seule langue officielle de la province du Québec est le français. Même si la majorité de la population est bilingue (français-anglais) et qu’une bonne connaissance de l’anglais est souvent exigée pour plusieurs postes de travail — surtout en gestion de projet —, la langue de travail demeure le français et sa maîtrise est un point-clé d’intégration pour les nouveaux arrivants.

Par la suite, il faut souligner aussi l’importance de l’autoévaluation du gestionnaire de projet qui vient d’arriver, pour qu’il connaisse ses forces et ses faiblesses dans le contexte de la gestion de projet québécoise. À côté des compétences techniques — aussi connues comme hard skills —, des qualités humaines et relationnelles — les soft skills — sont celles qui sont très appréciées par les recruteurs et gestionnaires, et qui pourraient vous distinguer dans une entrevue et même dans l’accomplissement de votre travail suite à l’embauche. D’autant plus que notre profession est de gérer des personnes et non des machines, les compétences techniques l’emportent souvent sur les habiletés qualitatives ou générales. Pour le faire, le nouvel arrivant peut utiliser des outils comme MBTI (Myers-Briggs Type Indicator) pour identifier son type de personnalité et connaître ses forces et ses points d’amélioration.

Pour s’engager à votre intégration au marché du travail québécois, plusieurs ressources sont à la disposition des nouveaux arrivants. Un bon exemple est le CREMCV (Club de recherche d’emploi de Montréal Centre-Ville), un partenaire du PMI-Montréal qui offre un programme de coaching professionnel pour les gestionnaires de projet. Pour plus d’information, veuillez visiter le site web de CREMCV.

 

Voici quelques autres trucs et messages de nos experts :

« Au Québec, la présence des immigrants est importante. Dans un milieu de travail ou d’étude, il faudrait se respecter les uns et les autres et faire valoir ce que chacun a de mieux. Le professionnel qui ne connaît pas encore son milieu ou son environnement de travail devrait l’exprimer et s’adresser aux bonnes ressources afin d’avoir la réponse adéquate. Même quand nous sommes dans une discussion entre Québécois, parfois nous ne semblons pas parler la même langue. Imaginez-vous quand nous rassemblons des gens qui ne partagent pas la même langue maternelle dans une discussion. Alors, c’est normal de poser des questions afin de mieux comprendre le message. Ne soyez pas gênés de le faire. » (Agnès Bédard)

 

« Une activité intéressante que les étudiants en maîtrise en gestion de projet de l’UQAM organisent est la semaine MGP. Chaque automne, des présentations sont offertes ainsi que des occasions de réseautage à tous ceux qui veulent s’intégrer au marché de travail québécois. » (Brian Hobbs)

 

 

L’ATELIER « LE CHEMIN DU SUCCÈS PERSONNEL… LE PARCOURS DE L’IMMIGRANT »

 
L’atelier « Le chemin du succès personnel… Le parcours de l’immigrant » est une activité interactive qui aide les professionnels qui arrivent d’un autre pays à trouver leur chemin à travers les défis du processus d’immigration. Déjà rendu à sa troisième année, cet atelier est livré quelques fois par année et est une excellente occasion d’interagir avec d’autres personnes qui se trouvent dans une situation similaire, d’apprendre avec l’échange d’expériences entre les participants et le facilitateur, en plus de donner 3 PDU aux professionnels certifiés.


L’atelier mise sur l’application de concepts éprouvés de gestion du changement et fournit des outils pour la réflexion et la préparation d’un plan d’action vers la réussite personnelle et professionnelle dans le processus d’immigration au Québec.
 
Il a été originalement conçu par Mme Merling Sapene, auteure du livre « Éviter les bosses lors du trajet d’intégration » (disponible sur Amazon.ca) et livré par M. Alcides Santopietro, un professionnel d’origine brésilienne qui vit au Québec depuis 11 ans.
 

TRAVAILLER AU QUÉBEC, SELON DES IMMIGRANTS

 
« Le marché du travail au Québec a beaucoup d’immigrants qualifiés. Il est important de savoir travailler dans un contexte multiculturel. Les différences dans un milieu multiculturel vont au-delà des aspects linguistiques : elles touchent les valeurs fondamentales de chaque personne. Ce qui peut paraître banal pour quelqu’un peut être offensif pour une autre personne. Par exemple, les immigrants français réalisent rapidement que même ayant la même langue que les Québécois, la culture, la façon de voir les choses et de travailler en mode projet est très différent.


Un aspect de la gestion de projet affecté par les différences culturelles est le traitement des échéanciers. Par exemple, dans certaines cultures, si le projet est en retard, il peut être acceptable de contacter le client pour lui expliquer la situation, et éventuellement, planifier une nouvelle date de livraison du produit. Tandis que dans d’autres cultures, cette action peut paraître inadmissible.



Dans certaines cultures, la famille est plus importante que le travail, tandis que dans d’autres, le travail est toujours l’aspect le plus important. Dans le milieu de la gestion de projet, cette différence s’exprime, par exemple, en heures supplémentaires pour terminer un livrable promis à un client. Les différences culturelles dans le milieu du travail peuvent laisser certaines personnes inconfortables. Il est important de reconnaître ces différences et de les respecter afin de garder un environnement de travail productif et respectueux.

L’aversion au risque est plus présente dans certaines autres cultures que d’autres. Cette différence peut générer des conflits.

 

L’éthique et la transparence sont des valeurs parfois beaucoup plus importantes que le profit. Le profit est valorisé, mais pas au détriment du respect et de l’éthique. Le profit exagéré peut quelquefois être mal perçu. Comme dans toute société, il est important de reconnaitre les différences culturelles et de les respecter pour réussir.

 

Le concept d’autorité diffère parfois selon les cultures : par exemple, tutoyer son supérieur immédiat et le considérer comme un ami peut être acceptable ou non.

 

Tous les immigrants se trouveront au moins une fois dans une situation où ils diront : “Dans mon pays d’origine, ça ne se fait pas comme ça”. Dans certains pays, les projets sont gérés en utilisant une approche et une structure plus lourde qu’ici. Par exemple, de plus en plus au Québec, dans le domaine des TI, au lieu d’écrire un document d’architecture de 80 pages avant de commencer à entrer du code, on privilégiera l’essai immédiat d’une première solution afin d’expérimenter le plus rapidement possible (en lien avec la philosophie Agile). Il est important de comprendre cette réalité pour bien s’intégrer dans cette culture. »

 

(Marc Messier)

LES PROGRAMMES POUR LES NOUVEAUX ARRIVANTS

« Les immigrants apportent plusieurs atouts intéressants pour le domaine de la gestion de projet. Par exemple, leur expérience internationale, leur capacité d’adaptation et une façon différente de voir les choses, ce qui est très bien vu par certains employeurs. » (Marc Messier)

 
La province du Québec offre divers programmes pour faciliter l’intégration des nouveaux arrivants au marché du travail. Pour ceux et celles qui cherchent des opportunités dans le domaine de la gestion de projet, il y en a trois qui se démarquent :
 
 
1. INTÉGRATION-TRAVAIL-FORMATION

En mai 2017, le Bureau d’intégration des nouveaux arrivants à Montréal (BINAM) de la Ville de Montréal, le gouvernement du Québec, la Chambre de Commerce du Montréal Métropolitain et quatre grandes entreprises québécoises ont créé le projet Intégration-travail-formation pour aider les immigrants et les immigrantes qualifiés de Montréal à obtenir une première expérience de travail locale et développer de nouvelles compétences à travers la formation et le soutien. Ce programme s’est inspiré du programme de parrainage professionnel (PPP) de la ville.

Les entreprises participantes (Mouvement des caisses Desjardins, Hydro-Québec, Intact Assurance et SNC-Lavalin) sont très intéressantes pour développer une carrière en gestion de projet, car elles ont des bureaux de gestion de projet, des expériences et du savoir-faire reconnus. Ce programme est rémunéré et, toutes les années, il y a entre 12 et 15 travailleurs immigrants qualifiés qui peuvent jouir de cette occasion.

Les immigrants et les immigrantes admissibles ne doivent avoir aucune expérience de travail au Canada ou aux États-Unis, ils doivent être arrivés depuis moins de cinq ans et détenir un diplôme et de l’expérience dans le domaine des postes ouverts. Les postes sont affichés sur le site web des entreprises participantes avec le suffixe « Intégration-travail-formation ».

Pour plus d’information, veuillez visiter le site web du programme.

 

2. PROGRAMME INTERCONNEXION

Organisé par la Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain, avec le soutien d’Emploi Québec, le programme Interconnexion favorise le contact entre les organisations de Montréal et les nouveaux arrivants pour les aider dans leur intégration professionnelle. Les activités de jumelages sont gratuites, variées et incluent :

  • Immersion en entreprise : rencontres professionnelles ; stages non rémunérés d’un maximum de quatre semaines en entreprise ;

  • Contact professionnel : journée découverte — carrière ; mentorat express ; atelier « Communiquer avec les employeurs » ;

  • Réseautage sectoriel : Formation sur le réseautage d’affaires et le processus d’entrevue ; conférence sectorielle ; séance d’entrevues éclair ; réseautage main-d’œuvre et diversité.

 

Les secteurs d’activité du programme Interconnexion avec des profils en gestion de projet sont la construction, l’environnement et le manufacturier, la technologie de l’information (TI) et le transport.

Pour plus d’information ou pour faire votre inscription au programme, veuillez visiter le site web du programme.

 

3. ENTREPRISES D'ENTRAÎNEMENT

Ce sont des entreprises qui accueillent des travailleurs en formation à travers les approches axées sur la pratique (« learning by doing »). Les entreprises d'entraînement font les mêmes activités que les entreprises réelles qui sont dans un contexte de mondialisation (gestion financière internationale, stratégies de marketing adaptées à différentes cultures, gestion d’équipes multiculturelles, etc.) et œuvrent dans différents secteurs d’activité. Dans plusieurs de ces entreprises au Québec, il y a des postes d’agent de projet.

Les participants aux programmes offerts par les entreprises d'entraînement ont la possibilité de mettre à jour leurs connaissances techniques (informatique, linguistiques, vocabulaire professionnel, etc.), avoir une expérience de travail locale, perfectionner des attitudes et compétences professionnelles (gestion du temps, gestion de priorités, travail en équipe, etc.) et avoir un soutien à la recherche d’emploi (des bilans de compétences jusqu’à la préparation des entrevues).

Le Réseau canadien des entreprises d'entraînement offre un répertoire des entreprises membres dans chaque province. Veuillez consulter leur site web pour connaître la vingtaine de compagnies du Québec qui participent à ce programme.

La durée maximale de la participation non rémunérée est de 15 semaines, mais vous pouvez recevoir vos prestations d’assurance-emploi ou d’aide sociale, et, selon le cas, vous pourrez obtenir un soutien financier supplémentaire.

Pour avoir plus d’information et connaître les conditions d’admissibilité, consultez le site web du programme.

 

RÉFÉRENCES DE CETTE SECTION

Bourel, Fanny (2017, 25 mai). Un projet-pilote pour faciliter l’intégration professionnelle des immigrants, sur le site Immigrant Québec. Consulté le 4 avr. 2018.

https://immigrantquebec.com/fr/consulter/actualites/projet-integration-travail-formation

 

Interconnexion (sans date), sur le site Travail immigrants. Consulté le 4 avr. 2018.

https://www.travailimmigrants.com/ressources/chambre-de-commerce-du-montreal-metropolitain-ccmm/interconnexion

 

Le Projet Intégration-Travail-Formation : Pour un parcours simplifié d’intégration professionnelle des travailleurs immigrants à Montréal (2017, 25 mai), sur le site Newswire. Consulté le 4 avr. 2018.

https://www.newswire.ca/fr/news-releases/le-projet-integration-travail-formation--pour-un-parcours-simplifie-dintegration-professionnelle-des-travailleurs-immigrants-a-montreal-624345123.html